7 Results for group: life-members

David Pearse

David was heavily involved with the Townsville music scene from the 1970s, including the formation of the BRO in 1999. He was made a Life Member by the Committee in June 2006, when he and his wife Elizabeth left Townsville to live in Canberra. More

Jenny Carr

Jenny Carr came to Australia from Scotland in the early 70s and instantly became an integral part of the Townsville music scene as a pianist and instrumental music teacher. In 1998 when the decision was made to establish a community orchestra, Jenny worked as librarian, performer and for many years as Manager . In conjun... More

Donna McMahon

Donna has been a leader in the Townsville music community since she arrived in 1973 fresh from the Conservatorium to teach strings for Education Queensland. Until 2009 she has also been involved with the Townsville Youth Orchestra, the Australian String Teachers’ Association, the Australian Concerto & Vocal Competi... More

Stephen Frewen-Lord

Stephen has been involved with the Barrier Reef Orchestra since its inception; having played as concert master in the orchestra’s inaugural concert in 2000. Since then, he has missed only a couple of Barrier Reef Orchestra concerts, and has been concert master for most concerts. When not rehearsing with the BRO, ... More

Alan Nixon

Sadly, Alan Dixon died in 2018. Alan was Secretary of North Queensland Ensembles Inc. / Barrier Reef Orchestra for eight years, retiring in 2016, having in fact been Secretary for half the life of the Orchestra at that time. Alan had a strong commitment to community service and supported Rotary, Jaycees and was involved ... More

Jacinta Payne

Jacinta has been part of the Orchestra from the beginning when she played 1st ... More

Carol Dall’Osto

Carol has been a leading figure in music performances in Townsville for many years despite living in Ingham until the early 2000s when she moved to Townsville. Carol is a piano teacher, accompanist, and musical director of the Australian Concerto and Vocal Competition which she has led since 1991.She was involved with the ... More